Iroquois Indians

Welcome to your learning resource.


 The Iroquois Indian nation covered what is now northern Ohio, New York and southern parts of Canada.

The Iroquois Nation is the oldest known form of democratic government known to man. The nation consisted of six tribes, the Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Cayugas, Senecas, and the Tuscaroras.

Before the Declaration of Independence was written, much inspiration was gained by the creators of the American system of government like Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson.

The Iroquois Confederacy (as it was officially called) suffered great losses throughout the years because of their wars with the French, British, and American Colonists.

Many people who’s ancestors came from the Iroquois nation still live in the same area today.

We hope you enjoy learning about them!

Click here to read more in-depth about the Iroquois.

Click here to read more about how the Iroquois affected the early American Government.

Click here to read about the war between the French and Iroquois, known as the War without a War.


The Iroquois Nation was the first official democracy in America, watch this video about it.



Here’s a video all about Iroquois history.



 The Iroquois lived in buildings called Longhouses, here’s an interesting video about it.

Click here to see how one is built from the ground up.

Younger learners might enjoy this craft idea.




Native American tribes from the Iroquois nation invented a ball and stick game which we now call Lacrosse.

Check it out!


This full length documentary is about the history of the Iroquois path to democracy, and the wars they fought because of it.




The Iroquois’ spiritual beliefs helped shape their nation. Here’s a quick video explaining what they actually believed.


 Here’s a whole hour of relaxing Native American flute and drum music. Enjoy!

Questions? Comments? Dead links?

Email us at

We’d love to hear from you!